German Tutorials

Your Teacher

Born in Germany, I have been living in a variety of countries and cultures where teaching German was always part of my personal and professional life. Whether in the United States, Israel, England, Germany, The Netherlands or now Canada - teaching has been one of my favorite tasks right up until the present day.

Education:

University of Houston, Texas (USA) 08/1990 - 05/1993

   Master of Arts (German Studies/German Philology)

University of Siegen (Germany) 09/1987 - 07/1990

   Bachelor of Arts (Political Science)

Current Employment:

Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax (Canada) 09/2006 - present

   German Instructor

Self Employed (Canada) 03/2002 - present

   Private German Tutor

  • Overall, providing German language services to a diverse clientele for individual reasons.
  • Specifically, preparing private students for international studies, research, visits and work in German speaking countries.
  • Supporting and preparing students for specific exams and pursued degrees.
  • Offering inter-cultural communication, and inter-cultural training in combination with language training to avoid culture-shock and faciliate local integration.

Professional Experience/Teaching:

German Saturday School, Houston (USA) 08/1992 - 05/1993

   Teacher for German as a Second Language

  • Teaching children ages 6-8 and 9-12 each Saturday.

University of Houston (USA) 08/1990 - 05/1993

   Teacher for German as a Second Language

  • Teaching grammar and conversational courses.
  • Preparing weekly tests and final exams.
  • Looking into improving existing teaching material.

Awards/Scholarships:

President of Academic Honor Society (USA) 08/1991 - 05/1992

   "Delta Phi Alpha"

Mannesmann Teaching Award (USA) 05/1991

   at the Department of German, University of Houston

Fulbright Scholar (USA) 08/1990 - 05/1992

Portrait
Copyright © 2003-2009 Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia